Meet Samüel Johnson

awesome artist for album covers!

Art for Music

I’m not sure if this has always existed or if I’m just becoming more aware of it, but there seems to be an inclination towards using flowers in album art (or floral inspired) and I’m all for it. This feeling is due in part to the work of Samüel Johnson (@Smljhnsonstudio), who I’m a big fan of. Originally from London but now living in Melbourne he has designed the album artwork and/or visuals for a lot of musicians that I listen to such as Dpat, Wayward, Ta-ku, Atu, MS MR, Stwo, XXYYXX, JMSN and so on. His cover for Ta-Ku’s upcoming EP Songs to Break Up to (out October 8th in digital/vinyl via HW&W and Sunday Records) reminds me a bit of Nick Knight’s photography of flowers and, at a stretch, Peter Saville’s album cover design for New Order’s Power Corruption and Lies. I like the balance…

View original post 330 more words

Leave a Reply

